Bookmark vs. Dog-ear: How do you record the last page read?

When I got the job as a website admin/blogger for SS Readers Corner, I enthusiastically shared the news with my book-loving friends. Our discussion, which started with my responsibilities, shifted to our reading habits. One friend asked, “Do you dog-ear the pages of your book?” and my response was a firm no.

I love books regardless whether they are mine or borrowed. I am a known bookworm amongst friends and family so I get plenty of bookmarks as gifts. I usually have a book in my handbag so I carry a bookmark with me all the time. I would never fold the corner of a book page.

There were times when I couldn’t find a bookmark and was desperate to record the last page read without damaging it. The easiest solution: grab any flat item within reach (usually in my wallet or purse). There are plenty of choices for a makeshift bookmark (refer to picture below) but the most popular ones are used train tickets and receipts.

The different types of bookmarks I use: a proper bookmark, a business card, an ang pow (a money envelope), a postcard and a train ticket.

The different types of bookmarks I use: a proper bookmark, a business card, an ang pow (a money envelope), a postcard, a train ticket and a tissue.

How about you? If you use a bookmark or any item(s) displayed in the picture, like this page. Do you use other creative methods to mark the last page read? Share your views in the comment box below. Alternatively you could answer by voting in the poll.

 

8 thoughts on “Bookmark vs. Dog-ear: How do you record the last page read?

  1. Opening the book and laying it face down is worst that dog-ear marking the book as it will loosen the book spine. 😦

  2. I agree. Thanks. I’d like to quote you for my next blog post 😀

  3. Definitely a bookmark…I love keeping my books pristine, so I don’t want any dog-eared pages!

  4. Pingback: A rebuttal | B(ariah)

  5. Well, I memorize the page number. Now I am wondering whether anybody else does so

  6. Actually my friend does the same as well. There are 3 ‘others’ comments:
    2 voted for memorise page number
    1 voted for donkey ear (German-way of saying it)

    Thanks for the vote!

  7. Donkey-ear sounds funny. In my native language the word ‘donkey’ is a slang used for a stupid person.
    There could be another way to ‘some-animal-ear-to-bookmark’ pages. Pull the top corner of the page out and close the book. Sorry, if it sounds silly. I really need rest.

  8. I dogear magazine pages, but not books. I usually use a bookmark or the flap of the book jacket to mark pages in books. Rarely, I will just leave the book lying open, but pages up so as not to damage the binding.

Leave a comment