How to cultivate reading habit in children

When I was in primary school back in the 90s, my mother used to borrow books to encourage her daughters to read. As a teacher, she had easy access to books in the school’s library and that gave us a lot of reading options. I remember reading Hans Christian Andersen‘s version of ‘The Little Mermaid’ and listening to other stories through audio cassettes. Each story teaches a life lesson, for example  the importance of being respectful to everyone regardless of status. Fast forward to 2014 and thankfully reading has become a habit of mine.

Sweet Valley High novels were my favourites when I was a pre-teen.

Sweet Valley High novels were my favourites when I was a teenager.

I do not have children but if I do, I would instil a love of reading in my children. I found an article that would help parents and grandparents to cultivate reading habit in children. The author recommends books based on age groups and author preference. There are also tips on using graphic novels and electronic books (e-books) to promote reading.

Our store has various titles mentioned in the article such as ‘The Chronicles of Narnia’, ‘Diary of a Wimpy Kid’, Judy Blume, ‘Harry Potter’ and ‘Hunger Games’. Please visit the store to check out our selection of children and young adults books.

Leave a Reply

