‘100 Greatest Romances of All Time’ survey – surprise and snubbed entries

The organising committee of Romance Festival 2014 has listed their top 100 romance books of all time. You could complete the survey here but in case the survey is closed, click on the image below. I agree with most of the entries although I think some titles are in the list because of their popularity. There are books that should and shouldn’t be in the 100 Greatest Romances of All Time list.

Surprised entry

I was quite surprised that ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ by Stephen Chbosky was in the list. In my humble opinion, the story had a different focus: identity development during adolescence. The book is about how Charlie finds his place in the world. His infatuation with Sam is a side story. I don’t think the book has enough romantic content to be in the survey.

Snubbed entries

One important book was snubbed: ‘Love in the Time of Cholera’ by the late Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez. The story is about enduring love; Florentino and Fermina went through so many life challenges and the only time they got together at the end of the book. I read this book in 2007 so I quickly checked Goodreads reviews. Perhaps this book did not make into the list because it takes awhile to warm up to their love story.

I was dismayed that ‘Paradise’ by Judith McNaught not in the list. It is one of my favourite books and I always re-read whenever I am bored. In most romance stories, a conflict between hero and heroine arises because of miscommunication. This element works here because people used snail mails, landline telephones and telegrams for communication in 80s and early ’90s. ‘Paradise’ is about “love conquers all” and I believe it is one of the 100 greatest romances of all times.

Do you agree or disagree with my views? Are your favourite romance books missing from the survey too? Share your views below.

 

Top 100 romance books of all time as chosen by Romance Festival 2014

Top 100 romance books of all time as chosen by Romance Festival 2014

