Father’s Day tribute: ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’

Malaysia celebrates Father’s Day today so Happy Father’s Day!

I must admit that I tend to read more romance stories. I wasn’t sure how to write this post (I did search for ideas online) until I realised that I have read a father-themed book and marked it as one of my favourite books. ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee, what else! Atticus Finch is my role model. He is the best fictional father of all time.

The copy of ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ that I own has this cover design.

 

Racial injustice

I love how he fought for racial injustice in a time where people were judged based on their skin colour. Mr Finch was appointed to defend a black man, who was accused of raping a white woman. He believed in his client’s innocence and did the best to his ability despite the disapproval from the townsfolk.

“As you grow older, you’ll see white men cheat black men every day of your life, but let me tell you something and don’t you forget it – whenever a white man does that to a black man, no matter who he is, how rich he is, or how fine a family he comes from, he is trash.”

Parenting

I also enjoy the interactions between Mr Finch and his children, Jem and Scout. Despite the big age gap and the death of his wife, he raised them well. He was affectionate yet firm with them. At times I feel that Mr Finch treated his children like adults. He did not give watered-down explanations to Scout.

“Do you know what a compromise is?” he asked.

“Bending the law?”

“No, an agreement reached by mutual concessions. It works this way,” he said. “if you’ll concede the necessity of going to school, we’ll go on reading every night just as we always have. Is it a bargain?”

“Yes sir!”

The aforementioned themes are my favourite takeaway points from the book. There are other life lessons that you can learn from Atticus Finch.

What do you think of the book? Is there any other father-themed book as good as ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’? Share your views in the comment box below.

ps: My dad actually asked for the DVD as a gift. He really enjoyed the film 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

