Penguin Cup: The literary World Cup

I enjoy browsing the World Wide Web to find ideas for this blog and just a couple of minutes ago, I found one great article that relates books to a current global issue. Almost everyone in the world has football fever due to the 2014 FIFA World Cup and Penguin Books celebrates this global event by organising a Penguin Cup! Penguin Books forms 16 teams for the Penguin Cup and each team is assembled by a country’s most accomplished authors. Participating countries include Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Portugal, Russia, Spain and the United States of America (USA).

In reality, my FIFA World Cup team was Spain but they played very badly in the first two games and lost a chance to defend the title they won 4 years ago. In my literary world, I root for team England (refer to image below) because I am more familiar with English authors. I have read and enjoyed the works of McEwan, Austen, Rowling and Orwell.

#penguincup team England

#penguincup team England

I have checked out Penguin Book’s Twitter account and this tweet (refer below) is just too awesome! To be fair, I couldn’t choose a winner because I am clueless about the German authors and have only read F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby and J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye. I don’t actually enjoy the aforementioned books. The former is too superficial (two-dimensional characters) while the latter has too much angst and whining (well Holden Caulfield is a teenager after all).

In addition to Penguin Cup, Penguin Books is also selling selected books at discounted prices!

Overall, I think the Penguin Cup is a great marketing strategy to increase sales and readership, as well as to connect with readers and authors. If you are keen to join in the fun, visit Penguin Books or look for hashtag #penguincup and #penguincupnews in Twitter and/or Facebook.

ps: I am supporting teams Belgium and Colombia! 😀 Which #penguincup and/or 2014 FIFA World Cup team(s) do you root for?

Leave a Reply

