Benefits of renting books: #3 Saves shelf space

Most bibliophiles (myself included) prefer to buy books instead of borrowing them. Purchasing books is always joyous and/or rewarding especially when one buys paperbacks and/or hardcopies (Readers, e-books are not yet popular in Malaysia). I love the smell of the pages of a book.

If you have a special room for your books, that is great. If you hardly have space for your stuff (e.g. books, clothes etc.), then you need to figure a way to store your books. You could buy bookcases (just like the image below) but it might be expensive for someone who have extensive collection of items. A case in point: I collect CDs, DVDs and books. Therefore finding space to store these items in my tiny room is always a challenge for me.

Billy Bookcase from Ikea

Billy Bookcase from Ikea – would it fit all my collections of CDs, DVDs and books?

That’s why I resort to borrowing and renting books. I save money by not spending on books and bookcases. I don’t need to worry about dusting my books. My room is not cramped with too many furnitures. If I ever feel the need to add more books to my existing bookshelves, I could use borrowed books. 😉

ps: This is a serial of blog posts to encourage people to borrow books. Read posts #1 and #2.

5 thoughts on “Benefits of renting books: #3 Saves shelf space

  1. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | How do you arrange your collection of books?

  2. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | Benefits of renting books: #2 Access to old and rare books

  3. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | Benefits of renting books: #4 Try out new author/genre

  4. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | Benefits of renting books: #5 Increase the amount of reading

  5. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | Benefits of renting books: #6 Improve English proficiency

Leave a Reply

