Benefits of renting books: #4 Try out new author/genre

“Hhhmmm everyone seems to be reading this book. I’ve never read his/her book before but the reviews are mostly positive. I should buy a copy then”.

(contemplate to buy while going to the cash register)

“I don’t want to waste money on something I might not like. I’ll get it when it’s on sale”.

Have you ever been in this situation before? Or do you get frustrated with reading the same genre all the time?

When I catalogued the books from SS Readers Corner for this website, I discovered many unfamiliar authors such as Allison BrennanDavid Baldacci and Terry Pratchett. Thanks to the wide collection of books there, I could switch to different author or genre. I don’t want to waste time on atrocious writing. Therefore I would first check out reviews at Goodreads before deciding on a book.

Tess Gerritsen's books are in my 'To Be Read' list

Tess Gerritsen’s books are now in my ‘To Be Read’ list

I am intrigued by Tess Gerritsen‘s work ever since I spotted her books at a book sale in May. I have never read a medical thriller so I plan to start with ‘Harvest’. If I enjoy the writing but find it too gruesome, I could try ‘Rizzoli and Isles’ series. If I want to continue with medical thriller books, I could search for the best written books in the genre.

Do you remain loyal to a specific genre or experiment among many? Share your views in the comment box below.

ps: This is a serial of blog posts to encourage people to borrow/rent books. Click on the number to read previous posts: #1#2 and #3.

6 thoughts on “Benefits of renting books: #4 Try out new author/genre

  1. I am definitely trying to branch out more lately – I usually stick pretty closely to literary fiction, but this year I’ve been trying out some romance and fantasy, and am loving it!

  2. Cool, thanks for the feedback. I usually read romance and popular literary fiction. I’ve just started reading a fantasy book ‘Neverwhere’ by Neil Gaiman. Have you read the book? ‘Neverwhere’ has been chosen as the latest addition to the BookBench project. I miss London so I thought ‘Why not re-live London via books?’ 😀

  3. I haven’t read that one – have only read American Gods by Neil Gaiman, but have been wanting to read more of his stuff because so many people absolutely love him. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

  4. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | Benefits of renting books: #5 Increase the amount of reading

  5. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | Benefits of renting books: #6 Improve English proficiency

  6. Pingback: SS Readers Corner | Challenge your reading: #2 Do a Book Bingo

Leave a Reply

