For readers and writers: the Melbourne Writers Festival

Notable writers congregate at Melbourne Writers Festival from 21st till 31st of August 2014. For more information, visit the official website http://www.mwf.com.au

a vision of words

MWF

If you’re a reader or a writer who happens to live in the vicinity of Melbourne, then this event needs no introduction.

The 2014 MWF begins tonight with Helen Garner providing the Opening Night Address. Alas, my festival experience doesn’t start until tomorrow, but I’m giddy with anticipation as I know my mind (and my trusty old notebook) will be brimming with new story ideas by the end of the day.

This is my fourth visit to the Festival, and every year something magical happens. I sit there quietly in the audience and listen to an authors describe their writing process, their inspiration, and how their characters were born. And by the end of the talk I feel slightly changed.

I’m sure this harks back to the ‘olden’ days of sitting amongst a circle of people, captivated by tales from the mouth of the storyteller in the middle. Oral storytelling…

View original post 120 more words

