Top authors I’ve only read one book from but NEED to read more

In case you didn’t know, Top Ten Tuesday is an original concept started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there is a specific topic of discussion for book lovers and they could reply either via the comment box or their own blogs. I posted my first Top Ten Tuesday a few weeks ago – click here to read my pick for ‘Top 10 book characters that would be sitting at my lunch table’.

This week’s topic is ‘Top authors I’ve only read one book from but NEED to read more’. These authors are featured in this list because I am impressed with the quality of writing. Although I did not enjoy some books, their writing usually engages me and makes me want to explore their other works. In no particular order, here is my pick for ‘Authors I want to explore further’.

Neil Gaiman

I read ‘Neverwhere’ two months ago when the book was chosen to be the 51st Bookbench by the Guardian readers. To be honest I wasn’t so impressed with the protagonist because he was passive/a follower  3/4 of the book but I really enjoyed his adventures in London. I lived in London 2 years ago so reading ‘Neverwhere’ brought back memories of my own London adventures  especially the London Underground.

My sister, who studies abroad, raves about ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ after her friend bugged her to read the book. I’m convinced and will get my own copy of the book.

Image credit: Kimberly Butter

George Orwell

I borrowed ‘1984’ from my former classmate after we submitted our Masters degree dissertation. In my humble opinion, the book is difficult to read. It took me 2-3 weeks to finish the book. Nevertheless, the book is frighteningly good because Orwell’s ideas (e.g. Big Brother, ‘War is Peace’ slogan) is somewhat a reality in the world that we live in today. This book is great for book clubs because there are so many topics of discussion.

I bought ‘Animal Farm’ but haven’t read it yet. Waiting for the right mood to strike. Perhaps I should suggest this book for my own book club, which will start end of this month. 🙂

John Green

To be honest, I am not a massive fan of ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ book. I feel that the main character, Hazel Grace Lancaster, is too self-righteous. I understand that she’s surviving cancer but her outlook on life was too pessimistic until she met Augustus Waters. The writing is a tad unrealistic at times because of the language used (it reminds me of ‘Dawson’s Creek’). The book does have several great lines such as the practice eulogy and the quote about constellation of stars. Oh I love the trip to Amsterdam because I got to relive my own journey.

My friend lends me his copy of ‘Looking for Alaska’ so I’m going to read that soon. Newsflash: ‘Looking for Alaska’ and ‘Paper Towns‘ are being adapted for the big screen so that ought to motivate me to read both books.

Tess Gerritsen

I’ve always hung out with medical students/doctors and watched medical tv shows (both fiction & documentary) so I was intrigued when I discovered medical thriller book genre. After seeing her books in stores and reading book reviews, I decided to try ‘The Surgeon’. Wow, the story was very captivating and full of suspense. The medical references were well-explained and I believe you don’t need to be have extensive medical knowledge to enjoy the book.

I am definitely going to continue reading her books. I read somewhere that there is a tv series based on ‘Rizzoli & Isles’ book series. I wonder if the adaptation is any good.

Image credit: Jessica Hills

Allison Brennan

I read a lot of romance novels and romantic suspense is one of my favourite sub-genres. I finished reading ‘Love Me to Death’ last week and found out that the protagonist’s past was told in another book series (called ‘Evil’) by the same author. I enjoyed ‘Love Me to Death’ because the protagonist, Lucy Kincaid, is a survivor of a hideous crime and the supporting characters are well-developed. The book also marks the start of Lucy’s career as a FBI agent.

‘Fear No Evil’ is now in my ‘To Be Read’ (TBR) list. I will most likely continue with both series when I’m in the mood for romantic suspense books.

Ella Frank

I enjoy reading contemporary romance books and I must say that Ella Frank is one of the best writers. I am very impressed with ‘Exquisite’ because of the well-written story with great character development. It is one of the few novels that managed to make me teary-eyed (I am not emotionally expressive). Ms Frank even introduced me to Dave Matthews Band’s song called ‘Crash into Me’ (I am an avid music lover).

I can’t wait to read the next books in the series, ‘Entice’ and ‘Edible’. I am going to get them in paperback first!

Truman Capote

I have actually never read ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’. I have seen the movie and read that the adaptation doesn’t actually follow the original source. Nevertheless, this book is in my TBR list.

I love ‘In Cold Blood’. I read the book when I joined a book club organised by the psychology department at my alma mater, University of Kent. Since I’d never read ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ before, I assumed he wrote fluff.  I was totally blown away by ‘In Cold Blood’, a chilling re-telling of a real crime. You could tell that he had done extensive research for this book. The book left me wondering about his feelings for the murderers – he was rather sympathetic towards them. As a reader, did you feel the same way too?

Kazuo Ishiguro

Did you know that Kazuo Ishiguro is an alumnus of University of Kent? I was ecstatic to discover the fact – wonder if I could meet him at an alumni event someday. Anyway I read ‘Never Let Me Go’ because I wanted to watch the movie version, which starred Keira Knightley, Carey Mulligan and Andrew Garfield. This book is another great addition to a book club’s reading list. You could talk about the human cloning programme, Tommy’s drawing, the friendship, the love triangle etc.

I want to read ‘The Remains of the Day’ because it won the Man Booker Prize for Fiction in 1989.

F. Scott Fitzgerald

Don’t hate me but I dislike ‘The Great Gatsby’. The tragic love story is told by a third person who is new to this society. I enjoy romance novels but this story isn’t good enough. In my opinion, Daisy Buchanan is shallow and not likeable. Jay Gatsby, who is described as a bored millionaire, bores me. I couldn’t care less about the characters, main or supporting, so I didn’t enjoy this book. Good thing that the book is short and easy to read (I enjoy the description of 1920s party scene) because otherwise, I would have stopped reading.

I am willing to try ‘The Beautiful and Damned’ and/or ‘Tender is the Night’. I hate being disappointed with the work of a critically-acclaimed author. If you think I should read his other work(s), please suggest.

Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner is one of my favourite books. I have never gone to Afghanistan but I feel that writer brought me there. I enjoyed reading the writer’s description of the country in various periods (before the coup, the Soviet invasion, and post-invasion). As a budding psychologist, I am always eager to read a person’s struggle with war, self and social identities. This is another great book for a book club because it invites discussions on many themes for example post-traumatic stress disorder, acculturation, abuse.

My sister has a copy of ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ so I don’t need to buy one. I read reviews that the book is better than its predecessor. I look forward to reading it.

Image credit: Getty Images

What do you think of my list? Do you have same author(s) listed in your Top Ten Tuesday list too? Let me know in the comment box below.

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are mine and do not necessarily reflect those of SS Readers Corner.

15 thoughts on “Top authors I’ve only read one book from but NEED to read more

  1. I’ve never read a medical thriller book! I love all the TV series so I’ll definitely check that out. I get that 1984’s important and it raised some big important themes but I can’t say I actually liked or enjoyed it. I wouldn’t read another Orwell from that.

  2. Thanks for the comment. I understand that not everyone enjoy critically-acclaimed books. I like ‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’ because it provokes deeper thoughts about nature vs nurture, parenting and adolescence but I wouldn’t read another Lionel Shriver book. ‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’ is too exhausting.

  3. I bet! The film was just horrifying. Impressive but so so disturbing

  4. This is a really fantastic list! I would definitely recommend reading The Remains of the Day as it’s so beautifully written.

  5. Thanks for the comment. I like your list! I’ve heard so many good things about Rainbow Rowell so I’m going to give her a try. Perhaps I should persuade the book store owner to purchase her books. Oh the store has Garth Nix. Will give it a go!

  6. I haven’t seen the film but am looking forward to it. In fact I bought the book with Tilda Swinton on the cover because I adore Tilda Swinton’s filmography.

  7. Thanks. Yup will definitely read the book. Need to get a copy first! 🙂

  8. I like your list! There’s a few authors I haven’t heard of, so I’ll be scrambling off to look some up in a minute. I definitely recommend reading The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I love this book. It’s beautiful. It’s one of those books you just want everyone to read! Also, the TV series for Rizzoli & Isles is great. I watch it all the time; they just had the most recent season’s finale. Personally, I like it better than the books. You should check it out!

  9. Thanks! Yup will definitely read Neil Gaiman. Wow, Rizzoli & Isles tv series are better than the books? Will definitely check them out. Thanks!
    I noticed that you missed out a few Top Ten Tuesdays. I’m new to it but in early September, the topic was ‘Top Ten Book Characters that would be sitting at your lunch table’. I’d be interested to know the people you choose. Here is mine: https://ssreaderscorner.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/top-ten-book-characters-that-would-be-sitting-at-my-lunch-table/

  10. I’m new too. This is only my second. I’m so mad at myself for forgetting the lunch table one. I had it half prepared in my head. I just got busy and Tuesday slipped away. Thanks for linking yours, I commented on it with my half prepared list.

  11. Orwell is definitely worth your time! As for John Green, Looking For Alaska isn’t my favorite book written by him but still very enjoyable. I think you’ll like the female character better than Hazel ^^.

  12. Thanks for the comment. Well I actually like the movie more than the book. The cast have great chemistry, the acting is good and the movie has Generation Y & Z vibe which I like so much. 🙂

  13. I have never read a Neil Gaiman book, but just about all of his work is on my TBR. I’ll probably start with Stardust first, just because I saw the movie (before I knew it was a book) and I love it so much. And I need to check out this Ella Frank! I love Dave Matthews! lol Your list has a few names I’ve never heard of before and I’m definitely intrigued. Thanks for sharing! ❤

  14. Kazuo Ishiguro! How could I have forgotten him in my list? GAH! I’ve only read NEVER LET ME GO, but my goodness, what a read it was. He sure does strike at the heart.

    Neil Gaiman is magic, by the way. I wanted to include him, but I’ve read two of his books so I couldn’t haha.

    Seriously awesome list.

    Jules @ The Book of Jules

Leave a Reply

