‘Books Are My Bag’ hosts hashtag #bookadayuk in October

Dear book lovers,

If you have a Twitter account, you should search for #bookadayuk. The hashtag is basically a UK-originated digital campaign to get people talking about books. There is a topic of discussion everyday and the hashtag is hosted by different book organisation every month.

We Love This Book‘ arranged the topics for the month of September. I was impressed by their out-of-the-box method to present tweets from contributors. Instead of clicking on ‘Retweet’ or ‘Favourite’ button, ‘We Love This Book’ compiled and displayed their favourite book suggestions via Storify. I was elated when my suggestions for Favourite Literary FriendshipFavourite Seafaring Novel and Literary Crushes were featured there.

On the 1st of October, ‘Books Are My Bag‘ will take over the hosting duty. Check out the image below for a list of topics. If you would like to contribute ideas, don’t forget to include hashtag #bookadayuk when you tweet to @booksaremybag.

#bookadayuk topics for the month of October

#bookadayuk topics for the month of October

1st: Book to curl in front of the fire with2nd: Happy birthday Snoopy! Favourite fictional dog

3rd: A book I love from one of the Cheltenham Literature Festival authors

4th: One with a beautiful spine

5th: Happy birthday Louis Lumière! Favourite cinema/film reference in literature

6th: First book I bought in a bookshop

7th: Last book I bought in a bookshop

8th: Best bookshop find

9th: Favourite book about a bookshop

10th: One with an orange cover

11th: Bought at a BAMB Bookshop Party

12th: Favourite Bookseller recommendation

13th: Nostalgic reads! Changed meaning when I re-read it later in life

14th: I adore the title of this novel

15th: Best home in literature

16th: Most memorable adventure/journey in literature

17th: The nearest book to you right now

18th: Make me laugh in public

19th: Make me cry in public

20th: Favourite bookworm in literature

21st: One where I fell in love with the narrator

22nd: Makes me want to travel

23rd: Best book on diversity

24th: A hidden gem

25th: Mmmm! Most memorable food/drink moment in literature

26th: Clocks go back! Best book on time-travel

27th: Favourite epigraph

28th: Has the best advice

29th: Most memorable fashion moment

30th: Favourite experimental book

31st: Spookiest read

Today’s topic is ‘Book to curl up in front of a fire with’. We don’t have winter in Malaysia but my favourite memory of winter is seeing snow in the backyard of my UK home (I studied there for a year). I read ‘Jane Eyre’ by Charlotte Brontë that winter. I was motivated to read the novel after watching the film starring Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender. 🙂

What about you? What book do you choose when you want to curl up in front of a fire?

Leave a Reply

