Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are mine and do not necessarily reflect those of SS Readers Corner. This post contains spoilers so kindly skim it if you don’t want too know in detail.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original concept started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there is a specific bookish topic, which will be discussed among bloggers. The topic for today is ‘Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want to Visit’.

If I could go on a vacation any time soon, here are my chosen destinations:

Honeymoon spots

‘The Sisterhood of Travelling Pants’ by Ann Brashares

Out of the four main characters in the novel, my favourite is Tibby because of her emotional growth. However for adventure purposes, I’d like to follow Lena’s path because she visits Santorini, Greece. 🙂

‘Santorini’ by Edward Dalmulder / Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

‘A Room with a View’ by E.M. Forster

I have travelled to Italy but didn’t have the opportunity to visit Florence & Tuscany. E.M. Forster described violets so beautifully:

“From her feet the ground sloped sharply into view, and violets ran down in rivulets and streams and cataracts, irrigating the hillside with blue, eddying round the tree stems collecting into pools in the hollows, covering the grass with spots of azure foam. But never again were they in such profusion; this terrace was the well-head, the primal source whence beauty gushed out to water the earth.”

Well actually I really love this scene:

“George had turned at the sound of her arrival. For a moment he contemplated her, as one who had fallen out of heaven. He saw radiant joy in her face, he saw the flowers beat against her dress in blue waves. The bushes above them closed. He stepped quickly forward and kissed her.”

‘The Beach’ by Alex Garland

I haven’t read ‘The Beach’ but have watched the movie. Since the movie’s screenplay was written by the author himself, I reckon the movie is a fair adaptation of the book.

I would love to take a break from daily stress by lounging in Koh Samui, Thailand. However if I knew about the location of that remote island, I don’t think I would pay a visit. I don’t want to risk my life for something illegal.

As seen in the movies/television series

‘The Lord of the Rings’ by J.R.R. Tolkien

Must go destination for LOTR fans! Click here to read more about LOTR tours!

I’d love to go on a road trip in New Zealand but must get fit first! There’ll be plenty of hiking I reckon.

‘Leaving Hobbiton’ by Jeff Hitchcock/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

‘Harry Potter’ series by J.K. Rowling

I would love to roam around the magnificent Hogwarts compound and check out the Griffindor hall, great hall, library and Hagrid’s hut. Then I would stop by Hogsmeade for a butter beer.

I didn’t go to Warner Bros. Studio Tour when I lived in the UK two years ago and when I went for my graduation ceremony in Canterbury last year. I shall plan a visit with my Harry Potter-loving friends. We could either go to Warner Bros. Studio Tour in the UK or to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in the USA.

‘Destination: Hogwarts’ by Scott Smith / Flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

‘Outlander’ by Diana Gabaldon

I also didn’t get to visit Scotland when I lived in the UK. I want to visit Edinburgh, the highlands and the castles.

I know that ‘Outlander’ is very popular these days because of the tv series (shown on ‘Starz’ channel in the USA). Fans of the book/tv series, visit this link to explore the magical land of Scotland.

Houses with reputation

‘The Great Gatsby’ by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I’d love to dress up in a flapper dress and join a party at the Gatsby mansion. The mansion hosted the most lavish parties in 1920s. I read that the food and music at the party are way over the top:

“On buffet tables, garnished with glistening hors d’oeuvre, spiced baked hams crowded against salads of harlequin designs and pastry pigs and turkeys bewitched to a dark gold. In the main hall a bar with a real brass rail was set up, and stocked with gins and liquors and with cordials so long forgotten that most of his female guests were too young to know one from another.

By seven o’clock the orchestra has arrived, no thin five-piece affair, but a whole pitful of oboes and trombones and saxophones and viols and cornets and piccolos, and low and high drums.”

If you would like some visual aids, visit this link to view Baz Luhrmann’s interpretation of a Gatsby party.

‘Rebecca’ by Daphne du Maurier

I would like to visit the mysterious Manderley house and explore its secrets. This is what Mrs Danvers told to the narrator/readers of the novel:

“Sometimes, when I walk along the corridor here, I fancy I hear her just behind me. That quick, light footstep. I could not mistake it anywhere. And in the minstrel’s gallary above the hall. I’ve seen her leaning there, in the evenings in the old days, looking down at the hall below and calling to the dogs. I can fancy her there now from time to time. It’s almost as though I catch the sound of her dress sweeping the stairs as she comes down to dinner.”

Sounds like a haunted house to me. I’d go with ghostbusters.

Finding oneself

‘The Motorcycle Diaries: Notes on a Latin American Journey’ by Ernesto Guevara

It is inspiring to read Ernesto Guevara’s journey from a privileged medical student to a charismatic and revolutionary leader. Mr Guevara and his friend Alberto Granado travelled to Argentina, Chile, Peru, Columbia, Venezuela by riding a motorcycle. During their journey, they interacted with the locals and discovered the social and economic injustice that happened there.

I’ve always wanted to stay in South America for a few months so I could improve my Spanish. I haven’t decided on the location. Any suggestions?

The diagram on the right is the route used by Ernesto Guevara & Alberto Gra

‘The Alchemist’ by Paulo Coelho

For those who haven’t read ‘The Alchemist’, the novel is about a boy who goes on a treasure hunt near the pyramids in Egypt. In essence, the book is not about the destination but actually about the (spiritual) journey.

As a person who photographs buildings and architectures more than selfie shots, I would love to capture the beauty of Egyptian pyramids.


What do you think of my desired vacation spots? What are the places that you would like to visit after reading a book? I would love to know so please share your comments and/or links below.

16 thoughts on “Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

  1. Manderley is a great choice! I’d love to explore it too. I really enjoyed the studio tour of Harry Potter. I hope you get a chance to do it soon! 🙂

  2. I read the book Labrynth by Kate Mosse, which is set in Carcassonne in France and knew I wanted to see this tiny medieval city. So I went. I fell in love with the place.

  3. What a great list! I live in the UK and was lucky enough to visit Alnwick castle (filmed for Hogwarts) just last week. It’s magnificent. One of my top ten places to visit would be St Petersburg. There are a lot of Russian novels I love, and especially Anna Karenina and War and Peace. I hope you get the chance to visit the places on your list!

  4. Great choices – this list makes me want to go on holidays so badly!!

  5. Thanks. I love Rebecca because of the gothic vibe.
    I shall start saving money for my Harry Potter adventure 🙂

  6. Thanks for the book recommendation. I’m adding it to my TBR list.
    I’ve visited Paris & Calais. Would love to go to country side. Are there any photos of Carcassonne in your blog?

  7. Lucky you! I’d love to do a Harry Potter trail around the UK. One day I shall.
    Hhhmm as much as I love travelling, I’m not sure if I can survive in Russia. I’m from tropical Malaysia and was lucky enough that winter was warm when I was there in 2011-2012. Perhaps a trip during summer, if I choose to visit Russia.

  8. Hehehehe. Well this year I haven’t been on a vacation. I’ve just started work so no vacation until probation period ends. Hence the books will act as my fictional vacation.
    I’d love to read your list. Are you planning to write one?

  9. I haven’t had a chance to write a list this week – but there would definitely be some Austen-era England in my list, as well as Middle Earth (Hobbiton specifically), and Thailand sounds pretty good to me right now! 😉

  10. Scotland. Yessss. 😀
    Also, I plan on going to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter next year. I haven’t been yet, and I NEED to go.

  11. No Carcassonne photos in my blog. I might have to do that though. Good topic for another time.

  12. i can’t remember the number of times i fell in love with Greece, through many books and movies, especiallyThe Sisterhood of Travelling Pants and Mamma Mia. LOTR and Hobbit made me drool for New Zealand, and I’m always jealous of my fellow Kiwi colleagues in the office. the No.1 Ladies Detective Agency series always made me intrigued on their lifestyle in Botswana, and i’m always thinking of the red bush tea mentioned in the book. Dan Brown brought the craze for muziums, I must say. I’d love to visit Musée du Louvre one day, it’s a fantastic piece of architecture. oh, the list can go on and on..thanks for bringing up the topic.

  13. I look forward to that. Drop me a comment if you do post about Carcassonne. 🙂

  14. Hello. Thanks for dropping by! I still haven’t read Alexander McCall Smith. Am sure will be captivated by Botswanan beauty. I’ve never read Dan Brown’s work but Musée du Louvre is spectacular. Make sure you go early in the morning if you want to see Mona Lisa and take a selfie up close. Otherwise there’d be a big crowd.

  15. Follow my Blog? I do reviews on Rock n Roll Autobiographies and True Crime Books

  16. Oooh good calls on The Motorcycle Diaries and The Beach!

Leave a Reply

