The Man Booker Prize 2014: The Winner

The Man Booker Prize award for this year goes to Richard Flanagan for his wartime novel, ‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North’.

Dorrigo Evans is an Australian doctor haunted by a love affair with his uncle’s wife. He journeys from the caves of Tasmanian trappers in the early twentieth century to a crumbling pre-war beachside hotel, from a Thai jungle prison to a Japanese snow festival, from the Changi gallows to a chance meeting of lovers on the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Taking its title from 17th-century haiku poet Basho’s travel journal, The Narrow Road To The Deep North is about the impossibility of love. At its heart is one day in a Japanese slave labour camp in August 1943. As the day builds to its horrific climax, Dorrigo Evans battles and fails in his quest to save the lives of his fellow POWs, a man is killed for no reason, and a love story unfolds.

‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North’ by Richard Flanagan

Mr Flanagan was announced the winner on Tuesday at London’s Guildhall. He was presented with a trophy from HRH The Duchess of Cornwall and a £50,000 cheque from Emmanuel Roman, Chief Executive of Man Group. Furthermore, he also received a designer bound edition of his book, and a further £2,500 for being shortlisted.

Click here to read more about his win. You could also watch this video of him talking about the book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s