Characters I Wish Would Get Their OWN Book

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are mine and do not necessarily reflect those of SS Readers Corner. This post contains spoilers so kindly skim it if you don’t want too know in detail.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original concept started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there is a specific bookish topic, which will be discussed among bloggers. The topic for today is ‘Characters I Wish Would Get Their OWN Book’.

Haymitch hiding out in District 13

Haymitch (‘The Hunger Games’ trilogy by Suzanne Collins)

Potential storyline: I would like to know what happen AFTER he won the 50th Hunger Games at age 16 till BEFORE Katniss and Peeta participated in the 74th Hunger Games. What did he feel when other District 12 tributes died in the battlefield? He drank a lot because he suffered Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). How did this affect his romantic relationships? Other than drinking, how did he deal with PTSD?

Genre: Drama/Science Fiction

Sirius Black’s Most Wanted poster

Sirius Black (‘Harry Potter’ series by J.K. Rowling)

Potential storyline: Sirius Black was blamed for the murder of James and Lily Porter and sent for imprisonment in Azkaban. I would like to get his point of view on the death of his best friend, the unfair prison sentence and his stint in Azkaban. How did he deal with the pain?

Genre: Fantasy

One of the best lines in ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ was spoken by Isaac

Isaac (‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green)

Potential storyline: Cancer is Isaac’s enemy. Because of cancer, he lost his eyesight, girlfriend and his best friend. I would like to find out how he adjusts to life as a visually-impaired individual and find his true love.

Genre: New Adult

Patrick and his Shop class project

Patrick (‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ by Stephen Chbosky)

Potential storyline: Forget Brad! He’d become more comfortable with his identity once he enters college and perhaps be in a happy relationship. I would like to know more about his relationship with his father. Is his father fine with his sexuality?

Genre: New Adult

I need to know Kevin’s point of view

Kevin (‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’ by Lionel Shriver)

Potential storyline: I wish Lional Shriver would write a companion piece to ‘We Need to Talk about Kevin’. I would love to read Kevin’s upbringing and motivations for his crimes from HIS point on view. What really drove him to act so cruel?

Genre: Drama/Mystery/Crime

Heather (‘Kiss an Angel’ by Susan Elizabeth Phillips)

Potential storyline: ‘Kiss an Angel’ is one of the few standalone stories (most of her books belong to series). I want to read Heather’s improved relationship with her father, her bond with her stepmother and most importantly her romance story. I reckon Alex & Daisy (& perhaps their children) would make a cameo in this book.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Carrington (‘Travis Family’ series by Lisa Kleypas)

Potential storyline: I think Carrington’s biological father wasn’t revealed in ‘Sugar Daddy’ (correct me if I’m wrong; it’s been ages since I last read the book). Despite the unconditional love given by Liberty (her half sister) and Churchill Travis (father figure), I think Carrington craves a connection to her biological father. I would like to read about her meeting her father and her love interest.

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Chick Lit

Eddie (‘Slammed’ by Colleen Hoover)

Potential storyline: Eddie moved to many foster homes when she was young but she later found herself a family. Eddie’s the best character in the book because she’s warm, fun and positive. I’d love to read more about her challenges and perspectives when she is older.

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Alice (‘Twilight’ series by Stephenie Meyer)

Potential storyline: I’m intrigued by Alice’s power because it reminds me of Cordelia Chase’s (of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel tv series) power. I’d like to read more about the time when she first gained her power. How did she feel? Was it overwhelming at the beginning? How does she utilise her power for the greater good? If Ms Meyer were to write Alice’s stories, I hope she’d focus solely on Alice. I don’t care so much about Jasper; he can have his own book but I don’t want him to share the limelight with Alice.

Genre: Fantasy


I couldn’t think of another character to make a list of 10 characters. Nevertheless, what do you think of my chosen characters?

Which supporting characters that you wish had their own books? Please share your comments and/or links below.

6 thoughts on “Characters I Wish Would Get Their OWN Book

  1. I totally agree with Haymitch. There is so much there to tap into. I haven’t read many of these so I can’t comment on the other ones, but I will comment on the ones I have read.
    Sirius would be a great character to write around. Again, there is so much there to explore. And if they can bring Gary Oldman back for the movie I would see it. It might be interesting to see how Bellatrix Le’Strange became who she was as well … I think you could have fun with that one.
    I’ve read the Twilight books and seen the first film (the wooden performances kept me from watching the others), but Alice was always my favourite character.
    Good choices. I’d struggle to come up with my own list of 10 … but if I do, I’ll give you credit for the topic.
    Cheers.

  2. Good choices – I would totally read a Haymitch spin-off!

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – get these people in the limelight already | born and read

  4. Hello Geraint. Thanks for stopping by and leaving comments.
    I don’t quite remember Bellatrix in the book but the movie version (played by wonderfully cast Helena Bonham Carter) was brilliant. Oh, I’d love to read the Muggle-hating Black family.

  5. Brilliant choices! 🙂 I would love to know more about Alice as well.

  6. I really would love to read more about Sirius too! It would be great to see what growing up in the Black household was like.

Leave a Reply

