Top Ten Most Eagerly-awaited Book-inspired Movies

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are mine and do not necessarily reflect those of SS Readers Corner. This post contains spoilers so kindly skim it if you don’t want too know in detail.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme started by The Broke and the Bookish in an effort to encourage bloggers to discuss about books. There is a new topic every Tuesday.

Today, bloggers can choose any topics that they’d like to write about. There are many book-inspired movies that will be released in 2015. Here is a list of ten book adaptations that I look forward to this year.

In the Heart of the Sea

Based on: ‘In the Heart of the Sea’ by Nathaniel Philbrick
Movie release date: 13th of March 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Cast and/or crew – This Ron Howard-directed movie stars Chris Hemsworth, Cillian Murphy, Brendan Gleeson & Ben Whishaw
2. Fascinating storyline – it’s a sea adventure that involves a whale!

Watch the trailer below.

Paper Towns

Based on: ‘Paper Towns’ by John Green
Movie release date: 19th of June 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Cast and/or crew – The script is written by Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber (the duo who wrote ‘(500) Days of Summer’ and ‘The Fault in Our Stars’). I also like Nat Wolff’s acting in ‘The Fault in Our Stars’.
2. John Green – I have read ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ and ‘Looking for Alaska but not this (yet). I’d like to explore more of his writing so I shall borrow from a friend.

There is no trailer yet but click here to read my blog post on the movie.

Me Before You

Based on: ‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes
Movie release date: 21st of August 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Fascinating storyline – a romance story involving a paralysed man. I haven’t read any of Ms Moyes’s work but this movie prompts me to put this book in my to-be-read pile.
2. Cast and/or crew – In an interview for ‘Love, Rosie’ (another book-turned-movie), Sam Claflin mentioned that he’d like to play a physically and emotionally challenged character. I look forward to seeing him in that role.

There is no trailer yet but click here to read my blog post on the movie.

Black Mass

Based on: ‘Black Mass: The True Story of an Unholy Alliance Between the FBI and the Irish Mob’ by Dick Lehr and Gerard O’neill
Movie release date: 18th of September 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Fascinating storyline – it’s based on a true story about 2 childhood friends who end up on opposite sides of the law – one is a FBI agent while the other is a part of an Irish mob.
2. Cast and/or crew – Benedict Cumberbatch.

Victor Frankenstein

Inspired by: ‘Frankenstein’ by Mary Shelley
Movie release date: 2nd of October 2015
Reasons to watch: 
1. Fascinating storyline – Told from Igor’s perspective, movie goers will get to see how Victor Frankenstein transforms from a medical student to the man who created The Monster.
2. Cast and/or crew – Igor is played by Daniel Radcliffe while James McAvoy takes on the role of Victor Frankenstein.

Mockingjay Part 2

Based on: ‘Mockingjay’ by Suzanne Collins
Movie release date: 20th of November 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Fascinating storyline – It’s my favourite book out of the trilogy. I enjoyed reading the book because of its darker themes (war, post-traumatic stress disorder, displacement, tokenism etc.).
2. Cast and/or crew – Francis Lawrence did a great job directing ‘Catching Fire’ and ‘Mockingjay: Part 1’ – I dislike Gary Ross’s direction in ‘The Hunger Games’. As for the cast, I’d love to see more of Haymitch because he’s my favourite character in the book.

Macbeth

Based on: ‘Macbeth’ by William Shakespeare
Movie release date: 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Cast and/or crew – Michael Fassbender. In my humble opinion, he’s the best actor in his generation.

Michael Fassbender as Macbeth

Dark Places

Based on: ‘Dark Places’ by Gillian Flynn
Movie release date: 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Fascinating storyline – It’s about a woman who survived brutal killing of her parents. She meets crime enthusiasts, revisits the murder case and starts to see the case from a different angle. After reading the synopsis of the book, I am compelled to read the book. Book is now in my to-be-read list.

High-Rise

Based on: ‘High Rise’ by J.G. Ballard
Movie release date: 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. Fascinating storyline – The book has been described as ‘Lord of the Flies inside an apartment’. I’m going to read the book!
2. Cast and/or crew – Tom Hiddleston. As much as I enjoy watching him as Loki, I’d love to watch him in a meatier role.

The Secret Scripture

Based on: ‘The Secret Scripture’ by Sebastian Barry
Movie release date: 2015
Reasons to watch:
1. The book – I started reading this book a couple of weeks ago but put it on hold to start reading another book (for my monthly book club meets). I found out about the movie when I conducted research for this blog post.
2. Cast and/or crew – I haven’t watched Jim Sheridan’s works but I know he has an impressive portfolio. Now that I know about the casting of Vanessa Redgrave (as older Roseanne) Eric Bana (as Dr William Greene), it would be much easier to be immersed in the story.


Do you have any of these movies in your watchlist? What are your book-inspired movies that you look forward to this year? Check out the links for ideas and then let me know in the comment box below.

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Eagerly-awaited Book-inspired Movies

  1. I hadn’t heard of the Frankenstein adaptation! So cool. Same for the Macbeth one! I can’t wait for that now! Michael Fassbender will be incredible. Oh my goodness. Can’t wait. Lol.

  2. High-rise looks super exciting, and I had no idea that Macbeth was coming out this year, I wonder how they’ll make it different enough from other adaptations (Michel Fassbender awesomeness aside…)

  3. Wow, there are so many on this list that I hadn’t even heard about yet! And some books I really need to read, like ASAP! The Dark Places, Me Before You… yeah, so I’d better get started! Great post idea!

  4. Great post today! I love seeing what everyone is choosing for the freebie topic 🙂
    I am VERY excited for Me Before You and Macbeth I haven’t really heard of the others, well minus Paper Towns but I need to read that book first.

  5. I can’t wait for Paper Towns! The book is my favourite of John Green 🙂 I enjoyed Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn- the film was surprisingly good too! I haven’t read Dark Places yet but looks like I definitely need to! AND Macebeth with Michael Fassbender?!- that is a must see! I wouldn’t have known without reading this post so thank you! 😀

  6. And here I thought I was pretty in-tune with information on film releases this year when I haven’t even heard that some of these being slated for a 2015 release! I’ve never heard of High Rise but the premise sounds intriguing (not that I was a major fan of LOTF though haha).

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  7. I have been impatiently looking forward to Heart of the Sea and Dark Places for a while now. I’m also really, really crossing my fingers for Macbeth, since there’s not a movie version of that play that I’m especially fond of. Hadn’t heard of High-Rise (or read the book), but anything that’s compared to Lord of the Flies sounds interesting!

  8. Yeah me too until I researched on this topic. I don’t think I’ll be reading all books here but I do look forward to the movie versions

  9. There’s no firm date for Macbeth on IMDb but I’m hoping Macbeth comes out this year. I’ve been waiting since last year

  10. Hi. Thanks for stopping by.

    I’m in the same boat; will read certain books asap. The release date of the movies will be a good deadline for me 🙂

  11. I avoided Gone Girl in the cinema because I’ve not read it. I read reviews of Dark Places & apparently the book is much darker. Hhhmm
    Yay, I’m so happy that a lot of posters are fans of Michael Fassbender. He’s just awesome!

  12. Thanks! There seem to be plenty of book adaptations. I hope a lot of cinemagoers will read those books. We need more book lovers!

  13. Fantastic list! Ooh Me Before You is out 2 days after my birthday!

Leave a Reply

