Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read From Romance Genre

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are mine and do not necessarily reflect those of SS Readers Corner. This post contains spoilers so kindly skim it to avoid too much information.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme started by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week there is a specific bookish topic, which will be discussed and shared among bloggers.

Today’s topic is about books that a blogger cannot believe s/he has not read in a particular genre. Since I am an avid fan of romance novels, here are my top ten romances books that I cannot believe I haven’t read.

‘Pride & Prejudice’ by Jane Austen

I have seen so many adaptations (movies, BBC tv series & even webseries) but somehow I just don’t feel the urge to read its original source. Any tips?

One of the many book covers for ‘Pride and Prejudice’

‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Brontë

I have not read the book nor watched any adaptations. I would be more willing to read the book if I had watched a good movie adaptation. What’s the best adaptation of ‘Wuthering Heights’?

One of the many covers for ‘Wuthering Heights’

‘Romeo & Juliet’ by William Shakespeare

I enjoy Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo & Juliet but I think the suicidal pact is silly. Juliet was too young to sacrifice her life to be with her ‘true’ love.

‘One of the many book covers for ‘Romeo & Juliet’

‘Fifty Shades’ trilogy by E.L. James

I don’t mind reading erotic romance but I steer away from bad writing. I manage to avoid these books since the trilogy went mainstream in 2012. However I wouldn’t mind watching the movie though I wish Charlie Hunnam had stayed on to play Christian Grey.

Perhaps the most talked about book in romance genre

‘Tangled’ by Emma Chase

I’ve had this book in my ‘To be read’ list ever since it won Goodreads Choice for Debut Author in 2013. I bought a cheaper copy online last month – I couldn’t wait to read it. I have high expectations!

‘Tangled’ by Emma Chase

‘The Edge of Always’ by J.A. Redmerski

I couldn’t wait for the sequel after reading ‘The Edge of Never’. It’s been almost two years since ‘The Edge of Always’ was published but I always contemplate buying a copy. I’m afraid of disappointment.

‘The Edge of Always’ by J.A. Redmerski

‘Breakable’ by Tammara Webber

I purchased a copy last August but I still haven’t read it. New adult books tend to focus a lot on angst. I’m waiting for the right mood to strike.

‘Breakable’ by Tammara Webber

‘Entice’ by Ella Frank

I simply love ‘Exquisite’, the first book in a trilogy by Ella Frank. Her writing is so brilliant that I was hooked from the start till the end of the novel. What delays me from reading book #2? The price of a paperback copy – it’s twice the cost of a mass-market paperback novel. Fret not, I will read once I the trilogy!

Newer cover for ‘Entice’ by Ella Frank

‘Gone Too Far’ by Suzanne Brockmann

I love reading Sam Starrett and Alyssa Locke’s interactions in books 2, 3 & 4 of Ms Brockmann’s Troubleshooter series. I’ve read reviews of ‘Gone Too Far’ (yay for happy ending) but haven’t had time to read books 1 & 5.

‘Gone too far’ by Suzanne Brockmann

‘Mine Till Midnight’ by Lisa Kleypas

I bought this copy because of the cameos by Sebastian St. Vincent and Evie Jenner (they are one of my favourite book couples). Will pick up this book when I feel like reading meatier romance.

‘Mine Till Midnight’ by Lisa Kleypas


What do you think of my selection? Which books make into your list of books you couldn’t believe you haven’t read? Share your link below and I’ll visit your entry.

One thought on “Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read From Romance Genre

  1. I enjoyed The Edge of Never but I am worried about The Edge of Always. I hope you get to read these books soon and that you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

